Anarchy of Ideas

This blog may meander a bit in meaning as I am trying to wade through the vast amount of expressed ideas. Over the past couple months in regards to our government, the media and the internet I have found a vast number of people expressing their points of view and boasting their expertise to others. In a way I find this comical with so many experts and so many ideas, but no one is listening or respecting another. Free speech is great but is it possible to go too far?

I have been questioning corporations, the government, and the media and in some cases even fellow citizens, but honestly I have to say many in positions of power frighten me. Many in government are speaking in terms of treason and evoking citizens into a revolution against the government. We have heard such talk from Governor Palin and others, but the person who strikes me the most severe is Minnesota Congresswoman Michelle Bachmann. See below.

I understand the fear of change, but just because there are different ideas for progress doesn’t mean they are going to destroy the fabric of our lives. Change is good, regardless of how frightening it can be. I honestly to not think fear of change should be a reason for treasonous banter.
Now look, honestly I was not a happy camper during the last eight years of the Bush administration, but never have I or anyone I know spoke of overthrowing the government, although at times I threatened refuge in Canada. My question is in a democracy when the majority has voted and the current administration has a very high approval rating how does promoting revolution make any sense? If you honor democracy, even though your party lost, how can you deny the very fundamentals of the process? I apologize to all those out there who voted for McCain and the Republican party, but get this-you get another chance in four years.

I am not a person who gets caught up in watching television, but I found myself addicted to the Showtime hit, The Tudors. And I asked myself, how would King Henry the VIII handle those who disagree and promoted revolution? In watching a rerun of season one, the show made mention that even imagining the king dead is treason. Yikes! Thankfully for all of us, we have won our independence over the British monarchy, but my question remains; should treasonous talk be allowed, or should it be tolerated because we have free speech? Doesn’t that strike you as frightening? When does this talk become destructive to the nation? Perhaps, if we value free speech, those in promote treason and revolution need to hear our free speech-Stop the fear mongering.
But once again I believe we need to not only hold those accountable who speak irresponsibility, we have to monitor ourselves. With twittering and blogging becoming an obsession to say exactly what is on our minds at any time without the consideration for another is dangerous. There is a deep desire in everyone to express their expertise and ideas, but we can’t lose sight of the respect of others, or else we will find ourselves with anarchy of ideas.

Leave a comment